#ARCAugust: My August TBR List

Hello Faeries!

We’re a few days into August now, so I thought it would be a good idea to post my August TBR. I am unofficially taking part in ARC August – this is a month long reading challenge created by Octavia of Read Sleep Repeat. The idea is to read as many of your ARCs as possible in a month, and if you’re anything like me you’ll probably have a shelf of them to get through!

I don’t usually put together monthly TBR lists, as I don’t like to limit myself to a certain list of books (I’m a massive mood reader) but I’d really like to knock some of these beauties off my TBR list, so this is my accountability post.

In no particular order, the books I’d like to read in ARC August are:

THE EVIL QUEEN by Gena Showalter

I realise the publication date for this one has already passed but I’ve been meaning to read it for ages and I finally started at the end of July. This book is a retelling of Snow White, and if you know me at all you’ll know I love a retelling! Plus, Gena Showalter writes amazing books so I have high hopes for this one!

THE BEAUTIFUL by Renee Ahdieh

GIVE ME ALL THE VAMPIRES!! Seriously, I’m so ready for a new vampire novel. The Beautiful is Renee’s offering, and after hearing her speak about it at YALC I’m even more exited to read it. The beautiful is set in 19th century New Orleans, And has been described as sultry, sumptuous and romantic. I cannot wait!

THE NIGHTJAR by Deborah Hewitt

Magical realism and alternate London’s? Count me in! The Nightjar is Deborah Hewitt’s debut novel, and it sounds absolutely amazing. When the marketing says that it’s a book for readers of Neil Gaiman and Joanne Harris, you know it’s going to be a good one!

A THRONE OF SWANS by Katherine & Elizabeth Corr

From the writers who brought us The Witch’s Kiss comes a new story billed as the most thrilling fantasy you’ll read this year (and I love a good fantasy)! This is the first book in a duology with roots in the Swan Lake story, which I’ve always been fascinated by, so I’m really looking forward to reading this book.

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett

I absolutely adored The Handmaid’s Tale, so when I was asked if I’d like to read another feminist dystopian novel along the same lines I jumped at the chance. This book sounds like it’s going to be gritty and, at times, hard to handle, but I love books like that. And I think we need books like that, so I’m excited to read it!

THE GIRL THE SEA GAVE BACK by Adrienne Young

This is Adrienne’s second book, and is set in the same world as Sky In The Deep which I absolutely loved! It’s another standalone, but apparently there will be appearances from some characters from her first book so I’m really excited to read this one! Special thanks to Sarah at Titan Books for sending me a finished copy!

So, there you have it! My semi-official TBR for ARC August. Not going to lie, there are some big books on this list, but I’ve got high hopes for them all and I can’t wait to see what they have in store for me.

Are you taking part in ARC August? What books are on your list?

7 thoughts on “#ARCAugust: My August TBR List

Add yours

  1. I think I’ve somewhat accidentally started participating in ArcAugust as the first book I read this month was Scar Like Wings – which I thought was amazing. I can’t wait to hear what you think of The Beautiful and Throne of Swans as these are two books I’m really excited about being released because they just sound so good! I love that Vampires seem to be making a return and it will be interesting to see how every author will write them!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: